This ache is an ache of need

I woke up with an ache in my chest.

An ache for my men, my fathers, my husbands, my brothers, my comrades, my friends, my sons.

I woke up with an ache for the men of this land.

For fathers who have left sons to their own devices.

Husbands who will not marry. Be it fear, be it fate … husbands to many.

For brothers who have left sisters unprotected, if it is not them that violate.

For the minds of my comrades, taken by war.

For friends I so loved, friends I so lost. For sons without fathers.

Sons who grow to not be fathers. Sons who grow to hate all the men that sleep with their mothers. Sons left to their own devices.

This ache is an ache of need.

@2016 Tumelo Motaung All Rights Reserved
Leave a reply

