For my dream

For the talks we’ll never have
The walks we’ll never take
For the folks we’ll never meet
The hosts we’ll never be
For the children
The kindred
For, you were not for keeps

Months
Days
Minutes
Seconds
That’s what you’ve become
That voice each time my phone beckons

I’ve waited
I’ve watched
I’ve longed for you
Excited
Ignited
Estranged for you
For us
For whiles
For days of haze

You were never here
Were you?
Half of you anchored
Harbored in all you knew
Half of you …
Taken, by water so blue


I’ve never had you
You’ve never swam
You’ve always just sat there
On that edge
From a distance
Waiting for my tide to come in
Only dipping
Never swimming

Perhaps you were afraid
I’d sweep you away from comfort
Drown you in my wild, wild love
Perhaps you were afraid
That the deep blue depths
Would halt your breathes

A dream
Just a dream
That’s what you’ve been
I’ve waited
I’ve watched
I’ve longed for you
For us
For whiles
For days of haze

Your presence
Once a beam
Has become all so dim
My dream

Leave a reply

